Summer Buzz

The last few days have been warm enough that I’ve gotten frozen coffee drinks to help keep me awake through the 3pm drowsies. They are wonderful, tasty and I’d make them at home if I owned a blender. Lest you think that certain Seattle based coffee shop chains originated the frozen coffee treat I give you the retro recipe Coffee Ice from Mrs. Owen’s New Cook Book and Complete Household Manuel— published in 1897!
Text not available
Mrs. Owens’ New Cook Book and Complete Household Manual By Frances Emugene Owens

Unfortunately this recipe doesn’t include anything other than a list of ingredients, so the reader must refer to the general directions for water ices given at the beginning of the frozen foods section.

No Text
Mrs. Owens’ New Cook Book and Complete Household Manual By Frances Emugene Owens

I’m going to try this recipe in my modern, electric ice cream maker and see how it turns out. My guess is it’ll be thicker than the coffee drinks I’ve been getting, but pretty tasty! Watch for an update!

Leave a Reply

