Snack Time!

One day it suddenly occurred to me that I could probably save a little money by making my own graham crackers. As it turns out, they aren’t at all difficult to make, are preservative-free with ingredients that I control, and taste just plain amazing. This little discovery has opened up a whole new world for me. I now look at boxes and bags of snack foods and start plotting how I could make them myself and make them better.

I’d never really thought about graham crackers outside of the box, so to speak. Some foods have simply become normal in their processed, packaged forms and I think that a lot of people, like me, forget that with just a little time and effort food can exist out of the box.

When we make foods ourselves we are able to control the ingredients that go into them. For instance, more organic and local ingredients can be incorporated and preservatives are left out. I also believe that when we see the ingredients that go into the food and participate in the production of what we’re eating we are more likely to make healthy choices. It’s hard to ignore that stick of butter or cup of sugar when you’ve just seen it on its way into your food.

My foray into graham cracker production seems to be the tip of the iceberg. I’m now working on finding, testing, modifying and inventing granola bar, cracker and more graham cracker recipes. Stay tuned for the results.

Leave a Reply

