Hummus

I really like hummus. I know it’s not for everyone–for instance, my partner hates it. No, I mean he really HATES it. He had one tiny taste several years ago and now regards anything I offer him a taste of as highly suspicious.

One of the things that I think makes hummus great is that you can customize it to your taste with extra add-ons. I like mine with lots of black pepper. I’ve really liked it with spinach and roasted red peppers too. This batch I made with toasted sesame seeds and they added a nice, nutty warmth. There are many recipes for hummus available, so find one that looks good to you and make yourself a delicious, nutritious snack. Unless you’re one of those people who doesn’t like hummus. Then feel free to skip this one.

Hummus

2 Cans Garbonzo Beans
4 Tablespoons Olive Oil
4 Cloves of Garlic, crushed
1/4 Cup Toasted Sesame Seeds
Salt and Pepper to taste

Cook the garlic in the olive oil over medium heat for just about 45 seconds. Don’t let it burn–burnt garlic tastes really bitter and awful! The sesame seeds can be toasted over medium-high heat until they start to pop. Add the olive oil, garlic and sesame seeds to a blender and blend well. Add the garbonzo beans and blend until it has a creamy texture. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Pita chips can be made by cutting pita bread into triangles, brushing them with olive oil and baking them at 375 degrees for 10-15 minutes. Sprinkle them with salt and pepper and they’re ready for dipping!

You’ll find that this snack is more filling and nutritious than, say, potato chips and onion dip, but remember: this doesn’t mean you can gorge yourself. Nothing is good in excess!

2 responses to “Hummus

  1. Have you tried Z’s Hummus yet??? I’ve been making it locally for 4 years now and a lot of people who never liked hummus before now are hooked to Z’s. It is very authentic and tasty. Thanks!

    • I’m ashamed to say I haven’t tried it yet. I thought about it while I was writing this post–I bet it’s lots better than what I tossed together. I just didn’t think that you’d see this post!

      I also haven’t managed to get one of your gyros yet. I’ve been a gyro lover since my mom took me to a Greek restaurant in Missoula when I was about nine, so I’m really excited to try yours too. I’ll have to do a “Z’s” post!

Leave a Reply

