Brown Rice Greek Salad

I have good intentions when it comes to salad. Everyone knows that salad is the quintessential good-for-you dish. The Thin Ones have, “Just a salad, please” and the nutritionistas repeat the mantra, “Leafy greens, leafy greens, leeeeeafy greeeeeeeens…”

Occasionally I order a salad when I go out to eat and it’s fantastic. I do this just often enough that I’m continually tricked into believing that I’ll begin eating salads on a regular basis at home. My partner will tell you: I buy lettuces, spinach, carrots, onions and tomatoes with the best intentions of stuffing myself with healthy salads. And he ends up eating salad after salad in a mad dash to beat the spoilage. Well, he doesn’t eat the tomatoes. He doesn’t like those.

I did it again the other day. I bought spinach, feta cheese, Kalamata olives and a red onion. I was so excited to have myself a Greek salad, but then… meh. Even though all the ingredients were there I just didn’t want to eat them. As I scraped the remainder of my nutrient and flavor rich salad into the garbage I wondered what I could do to make this dish, that I’d bought all the ingredients for, appeal to me.

It appears that while I won’t eat a straight salad, I’m perfectly happy to eat it with a little brown rice added. Go figure.

Brown Rice Greek Salad

4 Cups Brown Rice, Cooked and Cooled
1 Large Handful of Spinach, Chopped Into Ribbons
4 oz. Feta Cheese, Crumbled
1/2 a Red Onion, Thinly Sliced
1 Tomato, Chopped
1/2 Cup Kalamata Olives, Halved
1/2 a Lemon, Juiced
2 Tablespoons Balsamic Vinegar
2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
Salt to Taste(But be careful: you’ve got some salty ingredients in that bowl!)

Aaaand, mix it all together. How easy is that?

I used a short grain brown rice and a fig balsamic vinegar that I got at All Things Italian here in Bozeman. When they’re in season, a cubed cucumber would be a really nice addition. Use good, fresh ingredients in this salad and you can’t go wrong. In fact, I should have skipped the tomato until I have some growing on my patio or I can get them at the farmer’s market.

4 responses to “Brown Rice Greek Salad

  1. Loved reading through all your posts their excellent. I love to cook and bake I just don’t like the dishes. I also like salads but with only things I like on them no tomato’s please I also like chopped apples or grapes or manderin oranges in my salads.

    You do great writing keep it up.

  2. I just discovered Kamut recently. The recipe was very similar to this one, with the Kamut subbing in for the brown rice. Really tasty, as I’m sure this recipe is as well…

    • I was thinking that all the usual cold salad bases–orzo pasta and the like–would work splendidly. I haven’t tried Kamut yet though…

Leave a Reply

