Soft Cranberry Oat Pumpkin Cookies

I was feeling grumpy this morning when someone tweeted that baking cookies was the only thing that would salvage her week. My week has been pretty okay overall, but this morning I woke up way on the wrong side of the bed. In fact, last night I went to sleep on the wrong side and cookies sounded like a nice, easy pick-me-up to throw together while I drank my coffee.

Pumpkin drop cookies sounded good and easy, but I wanted something a little heartier than the pumpkin cookies I’d had before. I wanted a cookie that I could eat for breakfast, so set myself to the task of creating one.

I’ve only ever dipped cookies in milk, but milk just didn’t seem like it would go very well with these, too cakey, so I dipped them in applesauce. Incredibly delicious. They’d probably be good dipped in vanilla yogurt too.

Preheat the oven to 350° F.

1 Cup All-Purpose Flour
1 Cup Whole wheat Flour
1 Cup Rolled Oats
1 Tsp. Baking Soda
1 Tsp. Baking Powder
1/4 Tsp. Salt
1 Cup Dried, Sweetened Cranberries
1/2 Cup Salted Butter, Softened
1 Cup Sugar
1 15oz. Can Pumpkin Pie Filling
1 Egg
1 Tsp. Vanilla

Mix together the flours, oats, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cranberries.

In another bowl, cream the butter and sugar. Then mix in the pie filling, egg and vanilla.

Combine the flour mix with the pumpkin mix and drop by the spoonful onto cookie sheets.

Bake for 15-20 minutes. (Mine were perfect at 17 minutes.)

This recipe makes about three dozen cookies at about 95 calories per cookie.

I used pumpkin pie filling because that’s what I had in my pantry. You could just as easily use a can of pumpkin with a couple of teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice and a cup and a half of sugar instead of a cup.

Like I said, I wanted a cookie I could eat for breakfast… and that’s just what I did. My day has been salvaged; my week has been made.

Leave a Reply

