Last Minute and Sweet Reward

Oh, no! It’s late Monday afternoon on the last day of the month and not only do I have no idea what’s for dinner and no time to make it, but I also made that pesky resolution to try at least one recipe from a magazine each month.

I grabbed my magazines and leafed through them with determination. I would make good on my silly resolution and, fortunately for me, Cooking Light had just what I needed–revamped fast food recipes that all take less than a half hour. I could swing that even if I had to run to the store for a few ingredients.

I’ll admit, I almost gave up. None of the recipes seemed quite right– either they didn’t seem like something we’d really like or they involved ingredients I’d never used. Scary. But that’s why I chose to do this, isn’t it? I wanted my family to try something new.

So, I sucked it up and decided to make Shrimp Pad Thai from Cooking Light even though we’d never eaten anything like that and I was a little hesitant about the fish sauce. Really, fish sauce can be intimidating for a born and bred Montana girl.

Despite the trip to the store, it was a really fast and simple recipe. Mike and I devoured it with enthusiasm. The three-year-old wasn’t too interested, but he isn’t interested in anything we eat for dinner lately so, whatever. Seriously, we could be having chocolate cake for dinner… but, I digress. We got him to eat a few bites anyway.

I was on a roll and it was still early so I set about making Peanut Butter and Jelly Bars from Bon Appetit.

Really rich and sweet and so, so good. I used peach-raspberry jelly that Mike’s mother made and they seemed to be a bit much in bar form so I cut them down to nuggets.

Now, see? That wasn’t so scary. Trying new things is good. I’m glad I made that resolution and I’m so glad I’ve added these two new recipes into rotation.

2 responses to “Last Minute and Sweet Reward

  1. Yum! I’ve never made Pad Thai, but I’ve ordered it a few times. The Naked Noodle’s is really tasty! I might have to try the recipe — I have some fish sauce in the fridge from making beef and broccoli (which also called for oyster sauce, which was much more intimidating to me than fish sauce!). It has a more complex flavor that soy does, I think.

  2. Looks good glad the jelly helped if you need more just let me know.l

Leave a Reply

