September Magazine Recipe

I haven’t written a post in a very long time, but I’ve been dutifully making a magazine recipe each month as per my New Year’s resolution, taking pictures and, uh, meaning to write about them.

This month I chose a chili recipe from Better Homes and Gardens. I usually follow the recipe to the letter… but not today. Today I pretty much rewrote the recipe.

First I halved it. Then I didn’t want to go to the store so I subbed an ingredient. Then I subbed another ingredient. Then I used less of an ingredient. And finally, I added a whole new ingredient.

Anyway… I ended up with a great, quick chili that was mild enough for the kids and was perfect for me with the addition of a dash of green hot sauce.

Not The Magazine’s Chili

1 lb. Ground Beef
1 medium Onion, chopped (about 1 cup)
3 Cloves of Garlic, minced
1 4 oz. Can Diced Mild Green Chiles
1 Tbsp. Chili Powder
1 Tsp. Ground Cumin
1 14.5 oz. Can Diced Tomatoes, No Salt Added
1 15 oz. Can Kidney Beans, Rinsed and Drained
1 5.5 oz. Can V-8 Juice
1/2 oz. Semisweet Chocolate Chips

Brown the ground beef and drain the fat. Add the onion and garlic and cook until softened. Add the chiles, the chili powder and the cumin. Let that cook for a minute or two. Add the diced tomatoes. (I mashed about half of them with a fork so that it wouldn’t be so chunky.) Add the kidney beans, the V-8 and the chocolate and stir until the chocolate melts. Let it all simmer about a half hour until it’s thickened, stirring occasionally.

The chocolate was the thing that intrigued me about the original recipe in the magazine and I kept that ingredient in my modified recipe. I’ve never put chocolate in chili before, although it does make sense. I couldn’t taste it, of course, but I trust that it added to the overall flavor and the overall flavor was good.

This is a pantry meal that I could have on the table with a fresh batch of corn muffins in less than an hour. I think I’ll keep it.

Leave a Reply

