October Magazine Recipe

My magazine recipe for October was Spiced Cinnamon Rolls with Maple Glaze from Cooking Light. I’ve been eating them without the glaze though, and you know what? They don’t need any glaze.

These call for a cup of cooked and mashed delicata squash. Delicata is, for me, one of those mysterious other squashes that isn’t acorn, butternut or spaghetti and since I’ve never cooked it I’ve… never cooked it. My mom used to make acorn squash and spaghetti squash and the butternut squash recipes come pouring out of the Internet, magazines and cookbooks as soon as September hits, but this is the first time I’ve noticed a recipe for delicata.

I roasted it with a little butter and brown sugar. All the descriptions of it’s flavor compare it to sweet potato, but I thought it had an artichoke-like (but still squashy) flavor and the texture was kind of like artichoke hearts. I really liked it. I will eat it again.

The dough for these cinnamon rolls smelled amazing. The combination of the squash, the spices and the yeast made me salivate. On a scale of one to ten my anticipation for these cinnamon rolls was turned up to eleven. No joke, I was as excited for these as my kid was for trick-or-treating.

They totally delivered too. So good. I want to make them every day.

Mike thought they’d be even better with more walnuts, but we both agreed that the glaze was unnecessary. I wonder if I couldn’t sneak a little more squash in with the filling too, instead of just in the dough.

In any case, they’re really great just as they are. I’m going to go have just one more.

Leave a Reply

