Roasted Root Vegetable Salad for New Year’s Eve!

20111231-222720.jpg

For the final month of my 2011 “magazine recipes” resolution I chose a recipe from the December issue of Cooking Light. The Roasted Root Vegetable Salad includes turnips and parsnips–two vegetables that I’ve never really done much with and don’t regularly buy.

The vegetables tasted great just seasoned and roasted, but the vinaigrette made this a dish that wasn’t our usual fare. We often have seasoned and roasted potatoes, squash, beets and Brussels sprouts. Now, I’ll add turnips, parsnips and, maybe, some vinaigrette too.

The “magazine recipes” resolution was a pretty fantastic idea, if I do say so myself. I stepped out of my cooking comfort zone and learned a few things. I found some new foods for my family and made use of those magazines that I get. Yes, it’s been a great year and I’m pretty certain I’ve developed a habit here–I already have a couple recipes I want to try in January! It won’t be part of a resolution now, it’ll just be a practice.

Here’s to a yummy 2012!

Leave a Reply

