Chicken Piccata from Cooking Light

I couldn’t stop myself from making a magazine recipe in January. My twelve months of commitment were up, but that twelve months sort of made it a habit. I’m not complaining–trying new things is a good habit to have! This year I plan on making more new recipes from my cookbooks, but I didn’t do it in January… maybe I’ll have to do two in February to make up for my laziness!

For January I made a quick chicken piccata recipe from Cooking Light and, because the recipe suggested it be served with roasted vegetables, I roasted up some turnips, parsnips and carrots with a little olive oil and salt.

It turned out pretty great and reheated well for lunch. In fact, it may have been even better after sitting in it’s sauce for a couple of days. And I didn’t even warm up the veggies, I just munched on them straight from the fridge! Both the chicken and the veggies had lots of wonderful flavor.

Oh, and did I mention? This recipe looks fancy. It’s very pretty on the plate with it’s green capers and parsley against the browns of the chicken and the sauce. I felt a little like I was eating out, but it cost a whole lot less. Must look for more recipes that have that effect.

Leave a Reply

