Planning Ahead… Nope, Not Lately.

I know that planning ahead is crucial to saving money, eating healthy, and losing weight, not to mention blogging about your food–all things I like–but planning ahead has been impossible for me lately. I’ll spend an afternoon shuffling the pages of cookbooks and magazines and poking at things in the freezer, then we’ll go out to dinner. It’s really bad. It’s expensive, it’s unhealthy, and it makes me feel terrible.

I can’t commit to something that I have the ingredients for and I can’t commit to going to the store for ingredients I need. Nothing looks good or it’s too hot to cook what I want to. What I want to eat won’t be touched by the other three members of my family or I don’t want what I know they’ll all like. One excuse or another, everyday at 5:30 pm.

Then we go out to eat. Or Mike cooks for us when he gets home from work and I feel miserably guilty for failing at dinner again.

This isn’t working. I have a problem that I need to overcome and that’s my goal for the rest of this week because it feels good when I’m on top of things at home.

I’m going to make a plan and I’m going to make a couple of quick and simple back-up plans for when things fall apart or I get lazy. I’m going to get my groove back. This I declare.

Watch me.

Leave a Reply

