Chard, A New Veg For Me

My CSA haul included chard this week, a vegetable that I’ve never cooked and can’t remember having ever eaten.

I dutifully looked up a popular recipe online and made it for dinner. It wasn’t bad, but I’m not in love. Mike didn’t like that he could taste the wine and lemon in it. Next time I’ll prepare it a different way and we’ll see if we like it better.

The one big win of the evening (at least I felt like it was a win) was that I got the four-year-old to try a bite with relatively little arm twisting. Cooked, leafy greens are not his thing and I didn’t expect him to like this dish at all, but I think it’s important for him to try it anyway. And he did. Love that little guy!

One response to “Chard, A New Veg For Me

  1. Chard can be tough. But there are so many creative ways to make it that can be delicious! Here is one option…http://inherchucks.com/2011/10/08/chard-rocks/.

    I host a weekly CSA link party and would love for you to check it out. There are a bunch of chard recipes linked up this week. http://inherchucks.com/2012/07/25/whats-in-the-box-36/. Hope it helps!

Leave a Reply

