Doing Inventory

Every so often I go through my cupboards, fridge, and freezer and just write down everything I have on hand. I don’t keep meticulous records of my pantry items. I don’t have a white board on the back of my pantry door so that I can mark things off as I use them. I don’t need to do that, but every couple of months I’ve found that it’s good to take inventory.

Sometimes I find surprises.There’s an extra bottle of ketchup that I didn’t know I had or maybe the nearly empty bottle in the fridge is the only one we have left.

Sometimes there are things that are past their prime and need to be tossed and sometimes there are things that are getting close to expiring. I always get ideas for how to use what I have on hand.

On a day-to-day basis I have a pretty good idea of what I have on hand, but taking inventory is still a useful tool.

Leave a Reply

