Monster Zuke Freeze

I did a little research and it seems like grating and freezing zucchini for muffins and fritters should work just fine.

A couple of the zucchini that I used were enormous. When they get big they grow seeds in the middle like any other squash and you have to scoop them out.

By the way, those extra big ones that you have to scoop out anyway would be perfect for stuffing full of all kinds of good things. If you like zucchini–which I don’t! Just a thought. I like the idea of it, I just know I’d hate the flavor.

One method I found called for salting the grated zucchini and draining it to get more of the moisture out. I felt like it could use some draining, but I omitted the salt. Plenty of liquid came out without salt.

I’m portioning them out into bags of one cup apiece since most of the recipes I found called for a cup or two of grated zucchini. Now I just have to find room in my freezer.

This is perfect right now since I’ll have to provide a weekly snack for my son’s day care. Mini zucchini muffins will be simple to make, somewhat healthy, and well-enjoyed.

20120825-210931.jpg

20120825-210940.jpg

20120825-210948.jpg

Leave a Reply

