2013 Will Be a Yummy Year!

One of my resolutions this year is to make one new recipe from a magazine or a cookbook each month. I did this in 2011 and it was a lot of fun. I learned new things and found some really great recipes. It was a challenge, but it was one that forced me to expand my culinary boundaries. I was surprised every month–bagels are easy to make? Squash in cinnamon rolls is a brilliant idea? I actually like zucchini when it’s fried up with feta cheese??

I didn’t do this resolution in 2012 and I didn’t try too many new things either. It may just be a coincidence, but I think not.

In fact, 2012 wasn’t a great food year for me. I did a CSA for the first time, but other than that I neglected creativity and newness in my kitchen. I was also terrible at planning ahead. I want 2013 to be a really great food year. I want to do exciting things. I want to try new stuff. I want to eat healthier food. I want to be better at planning and shopping. My magazine recipe resolution won’t cover all these things, of course, but my hope is that it will stand as a monthly reminder to be mindful of my food and cooking.

2013 will be delicious and I’m going to savor every bite.

Leave a Reply

