No Bacon Sunday

Look, I know all the reasons why I should eat less meat, but it’s a hard transition to make. This past month, as part of my work wellness program, I was challenged to go meat free for an entire day each week. I didn’t think that’d be too much trouble, but boy, was I wrong. I don’t eat a whole lot of meat, but I do eat a little here and a little there. Pasta with chicken, soup with sausage, nachos with a little shredded beef, and bacon with Sunday breakfast.

IMG_4562.JPG

I think the challenge would have been a little easier if I’d planned better. As it was, I was continually thrown off track by desires for certain dishes and the need to feed my family at the end of the day. I need to branch out and learn a few good meatless dinners that my family will enjoy and start making them a couple times a week. It’s a good thing to do for so many reasons and good August aspiration.

Today is the final day of my wellness challenge. I’ve tried to go meat-free several times this week and failed. But today is my last chance and I’m determined to make it work. Which means no bacon. Cantaloupe is not the best bacon substitute, but it’ll have to do for today. I made it through breakfast–I’ll make it the whole day.

IMG_4563.JPG

Leave a Reply

